Attorney Angela Singleton - Oklahoma City Criminal Defense

What Happens If An Alleged Victim Retracts Allegations Of Assault?

Once the police are involved, it is no longer up to the alleged victim as to what charges will be brought against someone. At that point, it’s up to the district attorney’s office to decide if assault and battery charges will be filed. If a district attorney believes they have evidence to bring charges against someone, it doesn’t matter what the victim says. The district attorney doesn’t represent victims of crimes; they represent the state. If they think they have evidence to move forward, they are going to do it.

Does Hiring An Attorney Make Someone Look Guilty In An Assault Case?

Your right to counsel is not something that can be commented on to a judge or jury. You have an absolute right to have an attorney with you to protect your rights. Invoking your right to an attorney cannot be used against you, and hiring an attorney doesn’t make you look guilty. Rather, it makes you look like someone who is serious about protecting their rights and fighting for their life. It’s normal to want to explain yourself and tell the truth. Many people want to explain themselves when they’ve been accused of something. Police may urge you to tell them everything that happened. The problem is anything you say can be used against you. Even if it seems like the officer is trying to help you, it’s best to let someone who has dedicated themselves to the study and practice of criminal law to be by your side and help guide you through the situation. There may be a time when you will tell your side of the story, but you need an attorney to help you decide when that time is best.

What Are The Penalties For An Assault Or Battery Conviction In Oklahoma?

The most common penalty is a basic misdemeanor assault and battery charge, which carries up to 90 days in county jail. An aggravated assault and battery is a felony charge and carries up to five years in prison. Assault and battery on a law enforcement officer is a felony that carries up to five years in prison. Assault and battery on medical personnel is a felony that carries up to two years in prison. Domestic abuse charges can carry anywhere from a year in county jail for misdemeanors, to 20 years in prison for felonies.

Is Self Defense Ever A Viable Defense In An Assault Case?

Defenses are going to be very specific to each case. Self-defense may apply. The important thing to consider is that self-defense and other defenses can be heavily dictated by the laws. That’s why it’s important to hire an experienced attorney who can help you identify possible defenses and fight for you in the courtroom.

Why Should I Hire Your Firm To Represent Me In An Assault Case?

You need someone who has experience with the law and the criminal justice system. You need someone that will take the time to review the evidence that the government claims they have against you, and to help you understand exactly what you’re facing. You also need an attorney who understands that you are more than your case and will focus on your individual needs. Experience, knowledge and a client-centered approach are the foundations on which I established my firm. I will do everything I can to fight for you and to make sure that your life is protected.

For more information on Retraction Of Assault Allegations, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (855) 748-8771 today.