Oklahoma City Assault & Battery
Assault & Battery Charges
Assault can be charged by itself and can vary from state-to-state, but assault is often defined as an attempt to injure to someone else, and in some circumstances can include threats or threatening behavior against others. Battery is much less significant than people often think of. You can be charged with battery if there is any sort of uninvited, unwanted touching of another person. Battery doesn’t have to result in an injury or really any sort of pain or harm in anyway, it’s just touching someone in any manner that was uninvited.
Are There Different Levels Of Assault And Battery Charges?
Yes. Simple assault and battery is charged as a misdemeanor and carries up to 90 days in county jail. The result of the action is going to make it bump up to felony. You can be criminally charged with the felony, a crime of aggravated assault and battery and that gets charged if you cause injury that reaches the point of great bodily injury. So if you break a bone, if you cause permanent scarring or maiming or dysfunction to some sort of limb of the body, that’s going to get charged as aggravated assault and battery. Aggravated assault and battery felony carries anywhere from 0 to 5 years in the Department of Corrections.
Assault and battery with a dangerous weapon, anything can be considered a dangerous weapon as long as it can cause great bodily injury to someone, carries from 1 year up to 10 years in the Department of Corrections. Lastly, there is assault and battery with the deadly weapon and that is going to be any weapon likely to produce death and carries anywhere from no time in prison up to life in prison.
How Can An Assault And Battery Charge Be Aggravated Or Enhanced In Oklahoma?
Any prior felony conviction can be used to enhance any future crimes a person may make. Oklahoma has statutes that increase the range of punishment for any prior felony conviction on your record within a certain time period of 10 years.
For more information on Assault & Battery Charges In Oklahoma, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (405) 510-0345 today.