Oklahoma Sex Crimes Attorney
A conviction for any type of sex crime in Oklahoma carries serious consequences. Sex crimes are one of the most serious and harshly punished categories of crime on the books in Oklahoma. All but a small few are categorized as felonies and involve penalties that go beyond almost all other possible felony charges.
Under both Oklahoma state and federal laws, anyone convicted of a sex crime must register with the state and their status as a sex offender becomes a matter of public record. Convicted offenders will remain on the state sex offender registry for a minimum of 15 years and can be required to register for the rest of their lives. Failure to register as a sex offender is also a separate felony offense.
In addition to often substantial prison time, registered sex offenders also face many restrictions that will affect their personal and professional lives, even after serving prison time. They are forbidden from working in certain fields and may have state licenses or permits revoked. It is also against the law for a registered sex offender to live in various areas.
If you are facing—or think you will be facing—charges for a sex crime in Oklahoma, it is absolutely imperative that you contact a qualified Oklahoma sex crimes defense attorney as soon as possible. The more time you and your attorney have to plan your defense, the better the results you’re likely to see.
Penalties For Sex Crimes In Oklahoma
Sex crimes are punishable by penalties of varying severity under Oklahoma law. Some of the most severe, such as first-degree rape, for example, carry possible sentences up to and including death.
The exact penalties associated with different crimes are more or less determined along the lines of what is called sex offender risk levels. Offenders are categorized into one of three risk levels depending on the crime for which they are convicted. A risk level of one is the least severe. Risk level three is the most severe type of offense and therefore has the most severe possible sentences.
There are seven crimes classified as a risk level one, three classified as a risk level two, and 12 classified as a risk level three. This means that the majority of sex crimes recognized under Oklahoma law are assigned the highest risk level and those convicted of these crimes will face the harshest penalties that the law allows—including lifelong registration as a sex offender.
Level One Sex Crime Offenses
Level one sex offenses include:
- Assault with intent to commit a felony involving sexual assault
- Caretaker abuse or neglect involving sexual abuse or sexual exploitation
- Child endangerment involving sexual abuse
- Indecent exposure
- Child pornography
- Distributing obscene material
In addition to any fines and/or prison time, those convicted of a level one sex offense must register as a sex offender each year for 15 years.
Level Two Sex Crime Offenses
Level two sex offenses include:
- Soliciting or procuring a minor to participate in obscenity
- Online solicitation of minors
- Child prostitution
In addition to any fines and/or prison time, those convicted of a level two sex offense must register as a sex offender every six months for 25 years.
Level Three Sex Crime Offenses
The most severe sex crimes, level three crimes, include:
- Child abuse or neglect involving sexual abuse or exploitation
- Child endangerment involving rape
- Caretaker abuse or neglect involving rape
- Forcible sodomy
- First-degree rape or rape by instrumentation
- Lewd or indecent proposals or acts to a child under 16
- Sexual battery
- Kidnapping involving sexual abuse or sexual exploitation
- Child sex trafficking
- Second-degree rape
- Second or subsequent conviction of a sex crime
Those convicted of a level three sex offense, in addition to fines and/or prison time, are required to register as a sex offender every 90 days for the rest of their lives.
Consequences Of Sex Offender Registration In Oklahoma
Those convicted and registered as sex offenders in Oklahoma must live with various special rules and restrictions. Failure to follow any of these rules could result in prosecution for another offense.
Sex offenders must provide verification of their address to local law enforcement. They must also notify law enforcement if they will be leaving the state for any reason. They may be required to wear a GPS-enabled ankle bracelet and convictions for some offenses mandate that the offender has the words “SEX OFFENDER” imprinted on their driver’s license.
Sex offenders are not permitted to live within 2000 feet of a school or child care facility. That might not sound like such a big restriction, but in Oklahoma City that makes about 80% of the city off-limits. In addition, anyone convicted of a sex crime against a child under the age of 13 can not go within 500 feet of places where children gather such as schools, daycare centers, playgrounds, or parks.
Someone convicted of a sex crime is not allowed to live with another sex offender nor to live in any home with children unless the children are his or her own and were not the victims of the convicted crime.
Speak With An Experienced Oklahoma Sex Crimes Defense Attorney
Speaking with a qualified and experienced sex crime defense lawyer as soon as possible is crucial for putting together the best possible defense. The earlier you speak with a lawyer, the better your chances of achieving good results for your case.
My name is Angela Singleton and I am an experienced Oklahoma City criminal defense attorney. I am dedicated to my clients and getting them the best results possible for each and every case. You can contact me online anytime, or call (405) 510-0345 to schedule an appointment. Consultations are confidential and free of charge. I’ll be happy to go over the details of your case and discuss exactly what I can do to help you.